The Fault in Our Stars trailer released

Image credit: goodreads.com

Image credit: goodreads.com

Alternative post title: GET THE TISSUES

I read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars while on vacation this summer. I usually like to reserve chick lit or guilty pleasures for vacation. I can knock a Sookie Stackhouse novel out in one beach afternoon. TFIOS was garnering a lot of buzz and I like to read books before seeing their movie adaptations so I figured I’d bring it along. It was not nearly the breeze I thought it would be.

This book broke my heart. If you saw a grown woman crying her eyes out on the beach this summer, it was probably me reading this book. It’s one of those stories that sticks with you days after you’ve finished. It’s sad, but hopeful. Heartbreaking but also uplifting in that circle of life kind of way. I’ve been looking forward to the movie ever since. I think it is beautifully casted (is it just me or is Shailene Woodley crazy busy lately?) and I’m excited to see it realized on the screen.

Well, call it an early Valentine’s Day present–we’ve been gifted with the first official trailer, so check it out below. If you’re completely unfamiliar with TFIOS, I put a brief synopsis of the story below the video.

 

This isn’t as fresh in my mind as it once was, but here are the basics:

Hazel Grace is a 16-year-old girl living with cancer. Her parents force her to go to support group where she meets Augustus Waters who has lost his leg to cancer but is in remission. Their friendship blossoms into love, they go on a pretty amazing adventure, and find the strength to face tragedy. Do not attempt to engage with this story without a box of tissues handy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies

Leave a comment