An introduction… of sorts

Books turn Muggles into Wizards

Image Credit: thehpalliance.org

Quite a few months ago, possibly a year or more by now, I started a book blog. I read books, reviewed them and provided recommendations on next reads. It was fun for about a minute. For some reason, I started making rules for myself–what I could and couldn’t post, post length, voice, etc. Needless to say, it only took a few weeks for that blog to fall by the wayside. It started to feel like work when all I really wanted was a place to channel all my book loving energy. And let’s be honest… I didn’t have clamoring hordes of readers. I was being strict on myself for no reason.

Lately I’ve been getting the itch to write again, so here is my attempt to shed those rules and just write whatever I want. I have a lot of obsessions that come with a lot of feels and no where to put them. Dog-eared & Foxing is born. (What’s with the name?)

I could read one hundred books and write one hundred book reviews, but that’s not why I read.

I read because I get a rush every time Harry sees Diagon Alley for the first time, on paper or on screen. I read because I cried like a baby when Augustus said, “I lit up like Christmas Tree, Hazel Grace.” I read because there simply isn’t a better couple than Lizzie and Mr. Darcy. I read because Middle Earth is so much better than anywhere.

This time around, I’m doing it without rules. Books, fandoms, comics, cosplay, movies, video games. They’re all in my head and they’re all on the table. So… down the rabbit hole we go.

Unicorns and Wizard Sleeves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

